Blueberry Coffee Cake Muffins

Summertime here in Georgia means two things: hot sticky weather, and lots of fresh fruit and vegetables.

I have a garden for the first time here in Savannah, filled with ripening tomatoes. But that’s not all!

My boyfriend’s mother lives out in the country and has old blueberry bushes, a fig, plum, and pear tree! We visited them a weekend ago, and got to pick some sweet, organic blueberries. There is nothing better than eating warm-from-the-sun blueberries right off the bush.

Well, except for eating Blueberry Coffee Cake Muffins!!

I used this recipe and it turned out great. The only change I made was instead of baking it in a loaf pan, I used a muffin pan and adjusted the baking time.

I used eggs fresh from our own chickens! Look at those orange yolks

I used eggs fresh from our own chickens! Look at those orange yolks

DSC_0235

My helpers waiting for some crumbs to fall.

My helpers waiting for some crumbs to fall.

DSC_0239

So go pick some blueberries. Eat them raw, sprinkled in your cereal, or make this delicious, somewhat healthy coffee cake!

 

Leave a Reply

