It’s Sushi Time!

I love eating sushi. I put the wasabi undiluted on each bite, and eat every piece of ginger. I love the spicy tuna roll, the masago on top, and especially the tempura rolls. My favorite sushi place here in Savannah is Sakura, a hole-in-the-wall that could use a good sweeping, but they always serve this delicious fried bread with a syrupy dipping sauce.

I’ve been wanting to make sushi at home for a very long time. Luckily we already had some mats for rolling, so all I had to do was buy some vegetables, cream cheese, sushi rice, and some imitation crab meat. More on that later.

I followed this recipe to prepare the sushi rice, and cut up carrots, cucumbers, avocado, cream cheese, and the crab meat.

DSC_0153

I had also bought fresh salmon, but forgot to get “sushi-grade” meat, so the only other option was to freeze the salmon for seven days and then consume it.

As for actually rolling the rolls, it was kind of difficult. The rice is sticky and hard to maneuver.  My suggestion is to chop it up with a fork to separate it, and then use a plastic nonstick spatula to spread it out onto the nori.

DSC_0161Then, layer the vegetables and the meat into the very middle of the roll, and then roll it up!

DSC_0163

The first time I put too much rice and not enough vegetables, but the second time I got it just right.

DSC_0167

 

Our second attempt:

IMAG1961

 

I highly encourage y’all to try it for yourself! It was cheaper overall than eating out, and only took around an hour and a half total, including cooking the rice.

 

One thought on “It’s Sushi Time!

Leave a Reply

